Monday, June 22, 2009

Pakistan wins World T20

And they finally did it....Back are the days of Glory for Pakistan Cricket. Pakistan beat Sri Lanka in the Mecca of Cricket, Lords on Sunday June 21 by 8 wickets to lift the ICC World T20 2009. 'Boom Boom Afridi' carried his innings on Sunday from where he left against South Africa in the semi finals. First he bowled superbly to take 1 wicket for 20 runs off his allotted quota of 4 overs. Abdul Razzaq also bowled superbly to take 3 wickets. Kumar Sangkkara, the captain of the Sri Lanka, played a splendid knock of 64*, well supported by Angelo Matthews (35*). They did well to take Sri Lanka to a fighting total of 139, where the 4 Ms could have fancied their chances, but Pakistan had other plans. Kamran Akmal started the innings like a storm. His innings gave Pakistan a platform, from where Shahid Afridi & Shoaib Malik carried till the end. Afridi played a brilliant knock of 54* & Shoaib Malik supported him well to chase this modest looking total. Neither of the 'M' did anything notable & were unable to stop the two 'S', Shahid & Shoaib.

Younus Khan hold the trophy with the greatest of the spirit & promptly announced his retirement from T20. Shahid Afridi was declared 'Man of the Match" & Tilakratne Dilshan was adjudged 'Man of the Series' for his 317 runs.

The Celebrations will continue in Pakistan in the days to come.


Post a Comment