Thursday, June 25, 2009

Mortaza the New Bangladeshi Captain

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has been named as new captain for the Bangladesh Cricket Team. He replaced Mohd. Ashraful, who was struggling with his batting form & similarly, his team was suffering with their form. However, the chief of the Selection Committee of Bangladesh Cricket Board said that it wasn’t due to the team’s poor performance in the recently concluded ICC World T20, but it has been done in order to give Ashraful the much needed time to concentrate on his batting. He said that Ashraful was looking ‘overburdened’ as a Captain & a batsman. Now he could concentrate solely on his batting.

The No1 all rounder in the ICC Ranking, Shakib Al Hasan has been named as the new Vice Captain of the team.

Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Ashraful, Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Siddique, Imrul Kayes, Raqibul Hasan, Mehrab Hossain jnr, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shahadat Hossain, Enamul Haque jnr, Mahbubul Alam, Rubel Hossain, Saghir Hossain (wk).

Standbys: Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel, Naeem Islam, Nazmul Hossain, Shamsur Rahman


Post a Comment