Thursday, June 18, 2009

India's squad to West Indies

Indian selection committee recently declared India’s squad for the forthcoming West Indies tour. Interestingly, Munaf Patel & Irfan Pathan are shown the exit door & R P Singh & Ashish Nehra makes their comeback. I wonder if Ashish Nehra plays in this series & then sits out again for 1 year due to an injury. Jokes apart, following team will represent India in the coming tour of West Indies:

MS Dhoni (capt/wk), Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, M Vijay, S Badrinath, RP Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik.


Sachin Tendulkar (finger injury), Zaheer Khan (shoulder injury), Virender Sehwag (shoulder injury), Suresh Raina (hairline fracture of the thumb), Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan


Ashish Nehra, Abhishek Nayar, RP Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, S Badrinath, M Vijay

Abhishek Nayar finally makes his way to the Indian team after performing consistently for Mumbai Indians in the recently concluded IPL season 2. Badrinath is also rewarded with a place in the Indian squad, though he didn’t make any notable performance in the IPL 2. Murli Vijay is a strange name as he is rather considered a test batsman than a limited over cricket batsman. Ravinder Jadeja, though let Indian team down against England, still he is included in the team for this series, as no one can deny that he is a talented batsman & a utility bowler.

The players who are not included this time in the team are those who are suffering with injury except Munaf Patel & Irfan Pathan. Sachin Tendulkar is suffering from a finger injury & Sehwag & Zaheer Khan are suffering from a shoulder injury. Suresh Raina suffered an injury against South Africa in India’s last game of Super eight.

It’s still a balanced team & hope that the team will come out of the bad phase, they are currently in.


Post a Comment