Monday, September 27, 2010

Chennai Wins Champions League T20

Chennai Super Kings became the first Indian team to win the Airtel Champions League T20 Tournament. Chennai defeated South African domestic T20 winner, Warriors. Warriors batted first in the most crucial match of the tournament and Chennai bowlers, especially the spinners, played a huge part in restricting the Warriors. Warriors managed to score just 128/7 in their alloted 20 overs. Chennai chased the target with precision.

Warriors won the toss and elected to bat first. They have cracker of a start, but could not convert them into a big one. Their captain and opening batsmen Jacobs had been the best batsmen of Warriors in the tournament and today was no exception. Jacobs scored 34 off just 21 balls, but once his wicket fell, Warriors lost their way & submitted to the bowling of Muttaih Muralitharan & R Ashwin, who took 5 wickets of the total 7. Doug Bollinger & Albie Morkel also took 1 wicket apiece. In the lower order, Thyssen scored a quickfire 25 off 18 balls & took the team to a fighting total of 128.

Chennai was always in the control of the chase and their openers Murali Vijay & Michael Hussey shared a 103 run partnership for the 1st wicket and this ensured their win. Warriors' bowlers tried very hard, but they could do nothing about these two. Both the openers made cracking half centuries. Vijay scored 58 off 53 balls, with 6 fours and 2 sixes, whereas Hussey remained unbeaten on 51 off 46 balls. It was a calm & controlled innings by Hussey, as always! In the end, Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni hit a six & a four to win the tournament & complete the 'double' of IPL victory and Champions League.

R Ashwin was declared Man of the Series for taking 13 wickets. He was outstanding throughout the tournament except for that super over defeat against Victoria Bushrangers. Murali Vijay gets the Golden bat for scoring the most number of runs & R Ashwin gets the Golden Wicket.